Tag Archives: Minnesota Vikings

NFL Buckeyes (2017, Conference Championship)

Before the games kicked off on the field, a Buckeye lived a dream. 3-time New England Patriots Super Bowl Champion Mike Vrabel was named head coach of the Tennessee Titans. Vrabel spent 4-seasons on the Houston Texans staff and was promoted to defensive coordinator in 2017. He also spent three seasons on Ohio State’s defensive staff as linebackers coach and defensive line coach from 2011-2013.

More good Buckeyes news, Cam Heyward of the Pittsburgh Steelers was named to the Pro Bowl team as an alternate. He was originally snubbed from the game after having a career season that earned him an All-Pro selection. The game will be played in Orlando, January 28th.

The Super Bowl LII matchup is set. The New England Patriots will face the Philadelphia Eagles in Minneapolis at U.S. Bank Stadium on February 4th. These two teams met back in Super XXXIX in Jacksonville after the 2004 season. The Pats won 24-21. This will be the sixth time in NFL history that teams have met for a second time.

The New England Patriots came back from down 10 in the fourth quarter to beat the Jacksonville Jaguars 24-20 in the AFC Championship game.

The Eagles blew out the Minnesota Vikings 38-7 in the NFC Championship game with a strong performance from the defense. Safety Malcolm Jenkins recorded 3 tackles. This will be Jenkins second trip to the Super Bowl. He won with the New Orleans Saints at Super Bowl XLIV. 

NFL Buckeyes (2017, Divisional Round)

The Final Four of the 2017 NFL Playoffs is set. The New England Patriots will host the Jacksonville Jaguars in the AFC. While the Philadelphia Eagles will host the Minnesota Vikings in NFC. We’ll have to wait another week to find out who will meet up in the Super Bowl in February, regardless we know there will be some Buckeyes playing for the Lombardi trophy.
Malcolm Jenkins and the Philadelphia Eagles beat the Atlanta Falcons 15-10. Jenkins made 6 tackles in the victory.

The Jacksonville Jaguars defeated Cam Heyward and the Pittsburgh Steelers 45-42. Heyward made 1 tackle in defeat.

The last game of the the weekend had the most Ohio State Alumnus on the field. Michael Thomas, Ted Ginn junior, Vonn Bell and rookie sensation Marshon Lattimore faced Pat Elflein and the Minnesota Vikings. Minnesota won on a last second touchdown pass 29-24. Thomas caught 7 passes for 85 yards and 2 touchdowns, Ginn 8 catches for 72 yards and 1 rush for 11 yards in defeat. On the defensive side, Bell made 5 total tackles, while Lattimore made 4. 

The Minnesota Vikings Mt. Rushmore

The Vikings open their new $1 billion dollar stadium in 2016, looking to add to their great past. Photo Credit: Vikings.com

The Minnesota Vikings and their fans are ready to start a new area in the “Twin Cities.” They’re ready to christen a brand new $1.061 billion stadium to house a team coming off their first NFC North division title since 2009, and looking to take the next step.

While the Vikes are ready to make new history, their past is very decorated. Since their first professional season in 1961, Minnesota has won 1 NFL Championship (1969, pre NFL-AFL Merger), 4 Conference Championships, 19 Division titles, while making the playoffs 28 times. Several iconic, and colorful players, who laid the groundwork for the way the game is played today wore the Purple and Gold. The following four are the ones I have chosen as the face of the VIkings Mount Rushmore.


  • No owners, unless they were also coaches, and their place on this list is based on their contributions as coach. No General Managers or Personnel executives. Just those who directly affected the games on Sunday. I will make a separate list for those contributors soon.
  • Key contributors to the team’s history and success, not just fan favorites or box office draws.
  • Can you tell the franchise’s story without them? If no, they’re on the list.

Fran Tarkenton (1961-1966, 1972-1978) held every major NFL passing record when he retired, and was the first true mobile QB in League history. He is the Vikings career leader in wins (91), passing yards (33,098), passing touchdowns (239), completions (2,635), and attempts (4,569). The 1975 NFL MVP and Offensive Player of the Year led Minnesota to 3 NFC Championship titles (1973, 1974, 1976). Tarkenton, also known as the “Mad Scrambler”, was a 9-time Pro Bowl and 2-time All-Pro selection. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1986, and the team retired his number 10 jersey. Tarkenton is a member of the Vikings Ring of Honor, 25th and 40th Anniversary Teams, as well as was named one of the 50 Greatest Vikings in 2010.

Cris Carter (1990-2001) got off to a rough start in his professional career off the field when he was with the Philadelphia Eagles, but in Minneapolis he found his way. Carter is Minnesota’s all-time leader in receptions (1,004), receiving yards (12,383), and receiving touchdowns (110). The 8-time All-Pro and 3-time 1st-team All-Pro is the second player in NFL history to catch more than 1,000 passes in a career. When he retired in 2002, after a stint with the Miami Dolphins, Carter was second to Jerry Rice in the major career receiving records, and still holds 13 NFL records. He was selected to the NFL 1990s All-Decade Team, the Vikings 40th Anniversary Team and 50 Greatest Vikings. He was inducted into the Vikings Ring of Honor in 2003 and the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2013.

Adrian Peterson (2007-Present) is already the Vikings all-time leader in rushing yards (11,675), rushing touchdowns (97) and carries (2,381) in only 9 seasons, even though he missed all but one game in 2014 due to suspension. The 2012 NFL MVP and NFL Offensive Player of the Year rushed for the coveted 2,000 yard mark the same season, and fell 9-yards short of taking the mark for most yards in a single season in NFL history (2,097). All this was coming off a season where he suffered a torn ACL in the final game of the Vikings previous season. “AP” is a 7-time Pro Bowl, 7-time All-Pro selection, a member of the benchmark 10,000 rushing yards club, and is 17th on the all-time rushing list and climbing. 3-times he has led the League in rushing (2008, 2012, 2015). In 2010, he was selected as a member of the 50 Greatest Vikings list.

Bud Grant (1967-1983, 1985) coached the Vikings to their only NFL Championship in 1969, and he is the first coach in League history to lead a team to four Super Bowls (IV, VIII, IX, XI). Grant’s 158 regular season wins are the most by any coach with Minnesota, and the team won 11 division titles with him at the helm. When he retired, his 161 combined regular season and playoff wins made him the eight most successful coach in NFL history. The 1976 NFL Coach of the Year was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1994, and is a member of the Vikings Ring of Honor, 25th Anniversary Team, and 50 Greatest Vikings list.

Viking’s fans I want to hear from you. Agree or Disagree with this Mount Rushmore? Let me know what you think.