We Need to be More Childlike

 
Let me make this clear, this doesn’t mean be immature.

Here is an example of what I mean. When I was a child I never worried about how my parents were going to pay the mortgage, the utilities, put food on the table or clothes on my back. I TRUSTED they would do those things because they had never NOT done them before. Is that a double negative? I don’t know. But, you get what I’m trying to say. I just went to school and did the things they told me to do like obey my teachers, give great effort to make good grades, and enjoy the extra curricular activities I worked hard to be good at like basketball, football and creative writing.

We need to have this same childlike faith in terms of our relationship with the Lord, no matter how old we get biologically.

“Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children.” ~ Ephesians 5:1 | NIV

Look at your life and the needs God has met consistently and where He came through, on time, with an answer or help in a situation that looked utterly helpless or bleak. He always delivers, just like my parents did, still do in the case of my mother, and to a degree my father in his death with how he allocated resources to help us in the potential of his passing.

We need to go to work, school or do whatever tasks God has given us, without worrying 24/7—and hampering those efforts by doing things our way—about all the stuff we’ve asked Him to help us with, along with the stuff we haven’t ask help with or even know we’ll need help with. When we don’t use our childlike faith and trust, we start getting our hands involved, ultimately making things messier and compromising the coming blessings.

But also, understand being childlike in this manner I’m speaking of, doesn’t mean we make bad decisions and expect our Heavenly Father to bail us out either. It just means that we go about the business we CAN handle and TRUST, as well as have FAITH, that everything will be just right (taken care of) so that we don’t have to be worried about it.

Just something to think about. I can’t always talk about sports. 

Leave a Reply

