For The People of Central Florida, My Extended Family

Orlando will rise beyond the hate and live up to its nickname, The City Beautiful


“Hate will not define us. And hate will not defeat us, because we are one Orlando,” – Mayor Dyer.

I’m angry! I’m sad! I’m heartbroken and stunned. It’s taken me the last day and a half to get to this point where I could react in the only way I can, which is with my written words.

Orlando, Florida. The City Beautiful. The site of this weekends horrific tragedy, has a special place in my heart. It is my adopted hometown. And the place I hope to return and make my permanent home one day. 

I moved to central Florida in April 2007 for a better job, a chance at greater opportunities and to grow and see beyond what I saw in my birthplace of Columbus Ohio where I lived the first 26 years of my life. Central Floridians welcomed me and several of them selflessly helped me accomplish more than I had ever hoped for; from a chance to grow my career in the media, graduating from grad school and other personal achievements. In my four and a half years living there I found it and the people to be the most accepting and inclusive of anywhere I’d ever been. I assume it was the same for those who are apart of the LGBTQ community. I was able to grow from a 26 year old boy, who never lived on his own away from the nearby comforts of my family, to a 30 year old man who was better ready to handle the struggles life would throw me. 

But I don’t want to make this about me. I want this to be about the people of Orlando/central Florida. The friendly, lovely, kind and gracious people of “The City Beautiful”. The same people who will not allow this city to be defined by the deadliest terror attack since September 11th. This city and these great people, will rise up and band together like those in New York City did 15 years ago and remind the world what’s so great about their home. Our home. Central Floridians will remind everyone what’s so beautiful about the area and its people. This hate that has all of us shedding tears and at a great loss will only bond us together. We’ll all be stronger. United as the hashtag suggest. #OrlandoUnited. Hate won’t win. Love, peace and acceptance will. You watch and see. We are already seeing it in the way so many have come out in droves to donated blood for the wounded and other necessities, as well as lender their time to help and hug the victims families. And, there’s only going to be more acts of selflessness and kindness as time goes on.

I pray that the Lord brings peace, comfort and understanding to the families of the victims, the wounded and everyone affected. And that He also show us the way as a Country to keep senseless acts like this from ever happening again.

“Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in me.” ~ John 14:1

“Be imitators of God, therefore as dearly loved children.” ~ Ephesians 5:1 

#OrlandoUnited outside the Dr. Philips Performing Arts Center in Downtown Orlando. Photo Courtesy: OrlandoSentinel.com

 

One thought on “For The People of Central Florida, My Extended Family

  1. iamgraceaji

    I stand with you…as the world is so much under the influence of the bad,so many innocent people suffer at their cost. May God shower his peace that surpasses all understanding , to all those who have sacrificed their loved ones.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

