Beware, The Devil Blesses Too

But they might as well be curses.

“Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their splendor. ‘All this I will give you,’ he said, ‘if you will bow down and worship me.'”
~ Matthew 4:8-9 | NIV

Remember when Jesus spent forty days and nights fasting and praying in the desert while the devil tried to tempt him? As the intro scripture reads, the devil told the Messiah that he’d give him the kingdoms and riches of the world if he bowed down to him.

I don’t believe we have to literally get down on your knees to bow to our enemy. Being knowingly disobedient to what the Lord is a way of bowing to Satan.

Jesus said to him, “Away from me, Satan! For it is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve him only.’ ” Then the devil left him, and angels came and attended him.”  Matthew 4:10-11 – NIV

Thank you Jesus for denying the evil one and preserving our salvation.

Many people have claimed blessings from God, when really they were from the evil one.

The Lord wouldn’t bless you with things that will cause you to go further into debt like houses, cars, clothes and others material possessions that wisdom told you not to buy. Eventually those things become a burden.

I have also heard people justify leaving relationships to be with another person who came along after they were married or deeply involved with their current love, as God bringing them their true love or soulmate. Why would He want you to be with someone else at the expense of hurting someone who loved you unconditionally and treated you good in the process? Especially if you’ve already shown you can’t do right in the first relationship. God wouldn’t do that. But who would?

You guessed it, the devil.

That’s his way of tempting you to self-destruct. He has you believing God was sending you better, only now you have to deal with all the consequences of divorce or a break-up. What you thought was a blessing has become a curse because you spend more time dealing with the ending of the past relationship then enjoying the new one. There’s also the suspicion your new mate will always have that you’ll do to them, what you did to the person you were previously with.

It happens in all facets of life. Here’s a personal example from my professional life. In 2012 I was going through a lengthy unemployment period while attending grad school. During that time I went to live with my grandmother while my grandfather was gravely ill and being taken care of in a nursing home awaiting a life saving surgery.

For a year of my unemployment period I had no job prospects. A couple of weeks before I moved to Georgia with my grandmother and while I lived with her, I had several interviews. They were for jobs I didn’t really want and in a business I walked away from that began my unemployment. But a few of the salaries offered were more then double the last position I had held. It was very tempting and I was becoming desperate. Obviously I needed and wanted a new job, but had I taken one of those positions I wouldn’t have been around for my grandmother when my grandfather eventually passed away.

My God designed purpose was to be there for her and my family who were concerned about her being alone. The enemy tried to fool me several times into thinking that these jobs were blessings to end my unemployment. Godly wisdom – which I’m still working on gaining – allowed me to see they were traps that would not only take me away from the Lord’s purpose, but also suck me back into a profession I desperately prayed to the Lord to get me away from.

Don’t get me wrong, God wants us to have nice and beautiful things, but I believe He does it through meeting a need, not a want. But also, while fulfilling His purpose for our lives.

I’ll share this final thought with you. God doesn’t show you He loves you by what He gives you, but by what He gets you through. Because we are flawed as humans, we believe in showing our love for each other by our gift giving, but we don’t always back it up with our actions of meeting needs. God backs it up with action. Satan tries to give us short-term satisfaction.

Leave a Reply

