Big Ten Well Represented on Preseason Awards Watch Lists

(Updated 7/17/15 with Walter Camp list)

(Updated 7/16/15 with O’Brien Award and Walker Trophy lists)

(Updated 7/15/15 with Biletnikoff Award and Wuerffel Trophy lists)

(Updated 7/14/15 with Butkus and Lombardi Awards lists)

The Big Ten is loaded with talent amongst their fourteen teams, and it’s showing on the preseason awards watch lists.

The watch list for the Jim Thorpe award, which goes to the top defensive back in college football was announced Moday. Only two players from the conference made the cut, Juniors Vonn Bell from Ohio State and William Likely from Maryland. But, last week the Maxwell, Bednarik, Nagurski and several other major prestigious individual awards announced their preseason watch list, and the defending National Champion Buckeyes, and the Big Ten were well represented. Here’s a look at the players from the conference on each list.

Eleven B1G players are on Maxwell Award watch list, which goes to the player voted America’s College Player of the Year. As expected Ohio State Junior running back Ezekiel Elliot is on the list, he is also an early favorite for the Heisman Trophy. Joining him from OSU are quarterbacks Sophomore  J.T. Barrett, Junior Cardale Jones and Senior Braxton Miller. The Big Ten is also represented by:

2014 Maxwell semifinalist Connor Cook, Senior, QB, Michigan State
Leonte Carroo, Senior,WR, Rutgers
Christian Hackenberg, Junior, QB, Penn State
DaeSean Hamilton Sophomore, WR, Penn State
Justin Jackson, Sophomore, RB, Northwestern
Nate Sudfeld, Senior, QB, Indiana

The Bednarik Award which goes to college football’s Defensive Player of the Year, also has eleven Big Ten players on the list, headlined by Buckeye defensive end Joey Bosa a finalist in 2014. He’s joined by Buckeye teammate Senior linebacker Joshua Perry. The rest of the list goes:

Briean Boddy-Calhoun, Senior, CB, Minnesota
2013 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year Shilique Calhoun, Senior, DE, Michigan State 
Michael Caputo, Senior, S, Wisconsin
Maliek Collins, Junior, DT, Nebraska
Ed Davis, Senior, LB, Michigan State
Darius Hamilton, Senior, DL, Rutgers
William Likely, Junior, CB, Maryland
Eric Murray, Senior, CB, Minnesota
Anthony Zettel, Senior, DT, Penn State.

Mackey Award (Most Outstanding Collegiate tight end)
Jake Butt, Junior, Michigan
Kyle Carter, Senior, Penn State
Jake Duzey, Senior, Iowa
Josiah Price, Junior, Michigan State
Nick Vannett, Senior, Ohio State.

Rimington Trophy (Nation’s top center)
2014 winner Jake Allen, Senior, Michigan State
Austin Blythe, Senior, Iowa
Jacoby Boren, Senior, Ohio State
Robert Kugler, Senior, Purdue
Angelo Mangino, Senior, Penn State
Dan Voltz, Junior, Wisconsin

Ray Guy award (Nation’s top punter)
Cameron Johnston, Junior, Ohio State
Peter Mortell, Senior, Minnesota

Lou Groza award (Nation’s top place kicker)
Rafaell Gaglianone, Sophomore, Wisconsin
Paul Griggs, Senior, Purdue.

Dick Butkus Award (Nation’s top linebacker)
Joe Bolden, Senior, Michigan 
De’Vondre Campbell, Senior, Minnesota 
Darien Harris, Senior, Michigan State
Raekwon McMillan, Sophomore, Ohio State 
Mason Monheim, Senior, Illinois 
Yannick Ngakoue, Junior, Maryland 
Joshua Perry, Senior, Ohio State 
James Ross, Senior, Michigan 

Rotary Lombardi Award (Nation’s top interior lineman)
Mason Monheim, Senior, LB, Illinois 
Dan Feeny, Junior, OG, Indiana 
Jack Allen, Senior, C, Michigan State
Shilique Calhoun, Senior, DE, Michigan State 
Jack Conklin, Junior, OT, Michigan State 
Joey Bosa, Junior, DE, Ohio State
Taylor Decker, Senior, OT, Ohio State
Pat Elflein, Junior, OG, Ohio State
Adolphus Washington, Senior, DT, Ohio State 
Darron Lee, Sophomore, LB, Ohio State
Anthony Zettel, Senior, DT, Penn State
Steve Longa, Junior, LB, Rutgers
Vince Biegel, Junior, LB, Wisconsin 

If one of the five Buckeyes on the Lombardi Award watch list wins, they would be the sixth in school history, giving them the most in NCAA Football history.

Biletnikoff Award (Nation’s top receiver)
Leonte Carroo, Senior, Rutgers
Alex Erickson, Senior, Wisconsin
DaeSean Hamilton, Sophomore, Penn State
Michael Thomas, Junior, Ohio State 

Wuerffel Trophy (Community Service Award)
Nate Sudfeld, Senior, QB, Indiana 
Josiah Price, Junior, TE, Michigan State
Peter Mortell, Senior, P, Minnesota 
Bryce Haynes, Senior, LS, Ohio State 
Joshua Perry, Senior, LB, Ohio State

O’Brien Award (Nation’s top quarterback)
Connor Cook, Senior, Michigan State
Christian Hackenberg, Junior, Penn State
Cardale Jones, Junior, Ohio State 

Walker Award (Nation’s top running back)
Jordan Canzeri, Senior, Iowa
Corey Clemet, Junior, Wisconsin 
Ezekiel Elliott, Junior, Ohio State 
Josh Ferguson, Senior, Illinois 
Jordan Howard, Junior, Indiana 
Justin Jackson, Sophomore, Northwestern 
Paul James, Senior, Rutgers
Akeel Lynch, Senior, Penn State

Walter Camp (Nation’s most outstanding player)
J.T. Barrett, Sophomore, QB, Ohio State
Joey Bosa, Junior, DE, Ohio State 
Shilique Calhoun, Senior, DE, Michigan State
Connor Cook, Senior, QB, Michigan State
Ezekiel Elliott, Junior, RB, Ohio State 
Christian Hackenberg, Junior, QB, Penn State
Cardale Jones, Junior, QB, Ohio State
Braxton Miller, Senior, QB, Ohio State


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s