God Doesn’t Give Us Struggles/Troubles….

Whenever I have had difficulties in my life, family and close friends have said to me “God doesn’t give us more than we can handle.” I understand their sentiment, but I whole-heartedly believe that statement is wrong in reference to struggles. Why? Because, I don’t believe God is the one who gives us troubles. There are times when He may allow it—see the entire book of Job for example—so He can use it to teach us and those around us something valuable.

If you really think about it, it’s in the moments that we can’t handle, that we HAVE to lean more on Him. As evident by the scripture in Romans 8:28 that tells us God will work everything out for the good of those who love Him. Say He did dole out trouble, and He only gave us “what we could handle”, when would we ever learn to lean and trust in Him?

“I have told you this so that you may have peace because of me, while you are in the world you will suffer, but cheer up I have defeated the world.” ~ John 16:33b

I take the above scripture to mean the evil of this world, that entered when Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit from the Tree of Life, thus allowing sin into the Earth, is the cause of many of the unfortunate things we encounter and have struggled through. God already knows those things are going to happen, because He knows all. But, He doesn’t cause it. The evildoers of this world are the source of the problem, just like temptations.

Speaking of temptations, many times the trouble, struggles, disappointments and difficult circumstances we face is a consequence to a bad decision or action we’ve made. Can’t blame God for those right?

“You reap what you sow.” ~ Galatians 6:7b

That’s the punishment. So I don’t think you can look at God as the cause of our troubles. A good parent would not purposely hurt you to teach you a lesson (I’m excluding butt whuppins. “Spare the rod spoil the child, spoil the rod spare the child.” ~ Proverbs 13:24) but they’ll definitely use our screws ups to teach us something. I believe God is the same way. We’re all going to make mistakes, we are sinners. Doesn’t mean God doesn’t love us. We are His pride and joy.

I will say that I’ve read many scriptures on God’s wrath and punishment, but that’s a much deeper study than what I’m trying to point out here, or even qualified to breakdown. Therefore I won’t.

So, back to the saying that is the focus of my premise. What I think has happened, is people have confused or misinterpreted the scripture in 1 Corinthians 10:13 that says “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be TEMPTED beyond what you can bear.”

I do believe God won’t give you more than you can handle in terms of blessings. If you can’t handle $100 why would He trust you with $1,000? You don’t show up on time and give your best on your current, yet unfulfilling job, so why would He allow you to get a promotion or a better career only to get fired when you can’t get things done? You’re not a good partner and treat your boyfriend/girlfriend like an option not a priority, why would He allow you to get married and be an even worse spouse? These and others I haven’t mentioned, are things we’ve proven to not handle well, therefore I trust that God won’t give us more of them until we prove we can.

Lastly, and probably more importantly, what people need to understand is we live in a fallen world that is a battleground between good and evil. So some of the obstacles and struggles we face are resistance from the enemy trying to get us to self-destruct, disobey God or quit doing what we’ve been called to do. That is why we must stay reading the Bible to learn how to deal with the evil we face and how God fights our spiritual battles for and with us.

“The Lord will fight for you, you need only to be still.”  ~ Exodus 14:14

“People who do what is right may have many problems, but the Lord will solve them all.”  ~ Psalms 34:19

I’m not a preacher, or Biblical scholar. Just someone studying the Word for the betterment of my soul, and have absorbed some things that may help someone else. I always pray and ask God that what I’m writing and sharing isn’t leading anyone astray or misinforming them. We’re seeing a lot of vicious, heinous, and unthinkable acts happening in our world. It’s the kingdom of evil making its final push to cause as much pain and destruction as it can in these last of the last days. This topic has been on my heart for a very long while (I actually wrote the first draft of this over 480 days ago) and hopefully it helps someone in these difficult, dark days. I want to do my part. Hey, I can’t always write and talk about sports. There’s more to life.

  • Additional reading, 1 Peter 5:8-9, Ephesians 6:12-14, John 10:10
One thought on “God Doesn’t Give Us Struggles/Troubles….

  1. Pingback: God Doesn’t Give Us Struggles/Troubles…. | Kavis Peak

Leave a Reply

